What would you like to see in a Let’s Player magazine?

As you can probably tell from the above title, this post is asking for feedback from you, the reader. Several people from an LP community I belong to, Four Forgotten Fangs ( http://www.fourforgottenfangs.com/ ), have been scoping out the beginnings of a Let’s Player magazine. 

Since I enjoy writing, I decided I would love to write articles for the magazine. It’s still in the works, and I can’t provide dates of publication or anything major yet, but I would like to get some input on the sort of articles you’d hope to see in a magazine about LPing. If you have only non-constructive criticism to offer, dish it out somewhere else. Any other suggestions or helpful criticism are welcome. 

The several ideas I had already were :

-Time management and how to create an LP schedule to fit your lifestyle

-Way of separating yourself from other let’s players

 

These are only general ideas and not article titles by any means. I’d like to hear your ideas. It doesn’t matter if you’re a let’s player yourself or simply a viewer, let me know what you think! 

Of course I’ll keep this blog updated with any further developments (it’s just a hatching stage project right now). Hope everyone’s having a great day!

3 thoughts on “What would you like to see in a Let’s Player magazine?

  1. Here are a few other ideas for you:
    Different attitudes to LPing regarding the aims of the hobby, such as subscriber count/views/revenue /fun factor etc.
    The differing types of games to LP and how much of an effective LP they can make. Genres, Blind games, overly common/really obscure games, that kind of thing.
    Ways to react to viewer participation and feedback, both good and bad.
    Ways to get started/noticed (or if you should be concerned with that at all).

    That’s all I can think of by now. I can explore some of these with you if you like 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. A few ideas off the top of my head:

    Diffrent recording software

    The right way to earn viewers ( I.e not screaming like and subscribe everywhere)

    Length of videos, advantages and dis-advantages

    How to deal with trolls, or questionable. Comments

    One that I have really been thinking about is games that are hard to LP, why they are so hard, and tips on how to go about doing it. Kind of like V’s suggestion but focusing in depth on trouble games.

    Last one: an analysis of diffrent LP styles, advantage and dis-advantage and what kind of viewer this draws.

  3. Firstly, I think you should write on this blog more. You’re actually quite a talented, entertaining writer. Most blogs absolutely bore me to tears.

    I’m not an LPer. I’m not even a gamer. That said, I do know that getting noticed in a sea of other people who would like to be popular LPers would be a huge challenge. I only watch those whom I find for whom I find something unique. For example, I watch HCBailly because he knows more about the JPRG genre than anyone else I’ve seen on youtube. I watch Grimith because I think he’s funny and affable. I watch yours because there is a certain charm about your voice and commentary.

    I wish I had some unique ideas for the magazine, but after reading the other comments, I’ll just reiterate what some others have already said. If I wanted to become an LPer I’d be very curious as to how, or if you script your commentary. How, or if, you research your games before playing. How, or if, you get accustomed to basically talking to yourself in front of a computer and so on.

Leave a Reply

